Justia Lawyer Rating
Super Lawyers
American Institute Of Criminal Law Attorneys


Possession of Promethazine for Sale

Promethazine California Health and Safety(HS) code 11350 (a) makes it a misdemeanor to possess a controlled substance for personal use without a valid, lawful prescription.

Promethazine with codeine is medication commonly prescribed by doctors as a cough syrup and falls within the category of substances banned under code 11350. Promethazine with codeine has tranquilizing and euphoric effects and is sometimes misused for those reasons. In recent years it has gained popularity among teenagers looking to get high. Promethazine when mixed with soda and candy is known as lean. Lean has gained traction as a party “drug,” particularly among teenagers and young adults. Other common names for the mixed drug are purple drank and sizzurp.

Promethazine can be found in various forms such as syrup, gels or capsules and the effects of misusing it can include:

  • A low heart rate
  • Shallowed breathing
  • Nausea
  • Dizziness
  • Impaired vision
  • Memory loss
  • Hallucinations
  • Seizures
  • Overdose and death in rare cases

Possessing, possessing with the intent to sell, selling, or transporting promethazine with codeine comes with a wide array of penalties ranging from one year in jail to up to 9 years in prison and thousands of dollars in fines. A skilled and experienced attorney can evaluate the charges against you and help you obtain the best possible outcome.

Related charges include California Health and Safety Code 11351 and Health and Safety Code 11352. HS Code 11351 is possession with the intent to sell and HS Code 11352 includes actual sales or transportation of promethazine with codeine.

California Penalty for Violation of HS 11350

A violation of the Health and Safety Code 11350 is a misdemeanor punishable by up to one year in jail and a fine of up to $1,000.

California Penalty for Violation of HS 11351

A violation of California HS 11351 is a misdemeanor and can be punished by up to five years in prison and up to $10,000 in fines.

California Penalty for Violation of HS 11352

A violation of California HS 11352 is punishable by up to 9 years in prison and up to $20,000 in fines.

Even a minor possession offense can have lasting consequences including loss of gun rights, loss of employment, eviction, and immigration consequences for those who are not citizens of the United States.

Possible defenses to these charges are that the police engaged in misconduct or improperly handled evidence you did not actually possess or control the substance, the substance was for your own personal use, and that you had a valid prescription. The right defense strategy can result in reduced or even dismissed charges.

Gathering evidence, speaking to witnesses, and interviewing police officers early on in your case is crucial to composing an effective defense. Hiring a skilled legal expert at the beginning of your case will give you the best chance of a successful outcome.

William Kroger offers free consultations because he understands what an important decision it is to choose the right attorney. Please reach out today online or at 323-655-5700.

Client Reviews

"I would highly recommend Mr. Kroger for anyone seeking help in a drug case. He was very helpful at putting me at ease and took care of everything for me in court." Paul
"My first time using an attorney Bill Kroger took care if my issue that could have turned into something much worse in no time. The best." Stephen W
Bill and his team have helped my business tremendously. Friendly and easy to work with. Highly recommend! Ammar