How Do I Get a Concealed Carry Permit in Los Angeles?
If you want to get a CCW permit in Los Angeles, you must follow state and local guidelines to apply for and maintain the permit. The application includes an initial $30 fee, proof of documentation, background check, and the completion of a firearms course. Felons and others with prior criminal records cannot or are much less likely to get a CCW permit.
- What Is the Application Process for a Concealed Carry Permit?
- What Is the Total Cost of Getting a CCW Permit?
- What Are the Qualifications for a Concealed Carry Permit?
- What Counts as Good Moral Character?
- What Counts as ‘Good Cause’ for a CCW?
- What Documentation Is Required to Get a CCW Permit?
- What Firearms Training Do I Have to Complete for a CCW Permit?
- What Does the Training Entail?
- When Should I Complete Firearms Training?
- Should I Apply for a CCW?
There are three parts of the application process:
- Firearms Training
There are many fees associated with getting a CCW permit:
- Initial application fee - $30 in LA County, can range up to $100
- Cost of a DOJ background check - $95
- Psychological test fee, if required by county (LA County does not require this) - up to $150
- Cost of firearms training course - $200-$400
- Livescan/Notary services - $50-$100
To qualify for a ccw permit in Los Angeles, you must:
- Be of good moral character
- Provide good cause
- Be a minimum of 21 years old
- Own a registered firearm in California
- Be a resident of the county in which you apply
Authorities have lots of discretion when deciding whether an applicant has good moral character. Usually this is determined by your background check or if there is any evidence of poor decision making, such as a DUI or related charge.
Good cause is also left up to the discretion of issuing authorities. Often, self defense is enough to qualify as ‘good cause’, but some jurisdictions require a specific need or proof that your life is in danger.
- Current California Driver’s License or ID
- Original Birth Certificate, Naturalization Certificate, or current US Passport
- Proof of residency in the county you are applying
- This varies from county to county, but Los Angeles County requires a recent utility bill
- If applicable - Proof of honorable discharge from military service (form DD214)
- Documents supporting good cause
- Documents such as a restraining order or police reports that can prove that you are in danger or have a special need for a CCW permit
A firearms training course approved by your local jurisdiction must be completed before a permit is issued. Approved courses can usually be found on your county’s CCW application or on their info page. Approved Los Angeles county courses can be found here.
Courses teach instruction on firearm safety, firearm handling, shooting technique, and laws regarding the permissible use of a firearm. Firearms courses cannot be more than 16 hours, but first-time applicants can be required to complete a 24 hour college course. LA County only requires an 8 hour course for first time applicants and 4 hour course for those renewing their permit.
Training can only be required once authorities have approved the ‘good cause’ section of your application. You will likely be notified when it is time to take the course.
The only way to know whether or not you will be approved for a CCW is to apply for it. If you feel that you meet the requirements outlined in this article, you likely have a shot at getting a permit. The goal of these requirements is not to make the permit difficult to obtain, but to make sure those who have it will not abuse it.